MENÜ

Upper Jurassic - seashores and juniper heaths

The Bahamas south of Stuttgart: a tropical sea with water temperatures of 19 to 23°C, coral reefs in the water, palm ferns and ginkgo trees on islands. A tourist‘s paradise right on our doorstep? Not any longer, but 150 million years ago, during the Upper Jurassic period, a tropical sea existed where now the Swabian Alb is located.

Nowadays, if you look to the south from the Stuttgart television tower, you get a completely different picture. An escarpment of several hundred metres in height rises up from the foreland. This is what remains, as it were, of the tropical sea that once covered large areas of Europe. The layers of the Alb escarpment are composed of solidified sea mud and numerous remains of shells and calcareous secretions of sponges, algae and corals. Alternating with the limestones there are thin layers of marl, a succession related to rhythmic climate fluctuations. Together with the thin layers of marl, the limestone beds give the impression of stacked-up walls. This „well-bedded limestone“ is so beautifully stacked in parts that an observer could easily doubt it is the result of nature and wonder if it may in fact be the work of man. Some rocks look completely different: from indistinct layers to compact, massive limestones. The sponges were at work there, marine animals that were widely distributed throughout the Jurassic Sea and which have built reefs similar to those of corals.

As there were so many limestone outcrops, this understandably encouraged people to think of variety usages. For example, large quarries can still be seen in the area to the present. Limestone gravel was and still is exploited here for building purposes as well as limestone as a raw material for the cement industry. As the long-distance transport of limestone would have been too expensive, large cement works are usually located near quarries, for example in Allmendingen, Dotternhausen and Schelklingen. The quarries are admittedly an intrusion in the natural landscape, but after a while they are an important habitat for peregrine falcons, eagle owls and other rare animals and some of them have therefore even become protected nature reserves.

Due to the shallow soils, the limestones of the Alb are visible on the surface in almost every bank of a path or can be found collected together in large clearance cairns or in walls at the edge of fields. „There were a lot of stones and not much bread,“ this is how the Härtsfeld plateau near Neresheim was used to be described and an observer today may well still ask how crops could grow between the stones which are almost completely covering the fields.

The water-soluble and „water swallowing“ limestone of the Alb is not just a geological phenomenon but also forces humans, animals and plants to make special adjustments. The Alb is famous for its bright colourful meadows, known as limestone grasslands, with numerous orchids and carline thistles. The extensive juniper heaths, virtually typical of the „original“ Alb, would not normally occur here. They have been laid out, as it were, by man. Flocks of sheep prevented the growth of deciduous trees which otherwise would have formed a sparse beech forest here. The prickly juniper which no sheep would want to bite, although hungry, was the only plant that remained.

continue with Tertiary Period

MENÜ

Weißer Jura - Meeresstrände und Wacholderheiden

Die Bahamas südlich von Stuttgart: ein tropisches Meer mit Wassertemperaturen von 19 bis 23°C, Korallenriffe im Wasser, Palmfarne und Ginkgobäume an Land. Ein Paradies aus der Tourismuswerbung in unserer unmittelbaren Nähe? Heute nicht mehr, aber vor 150 Millionen Jahren, im Zeitalter des Weißen Jura, befand sich im Bereich der Schwäbischen Alb ein solches tropisches Meer.

Schaut man heute vom Stuttgarter Fernsehturm nach Süden, bietet sich ein ganz anderes Bild. Eine Steilstufe von mehreren hundert Metern Höhe erhebt sich aus dem Vorland. Sie ist sozusagen vom tropischen Meer zurückgeblieben, welches einst große Teile Europas bedeckte. Die Schichten des Albtraufs sind aus verfestigtem Meeresschlamm sowie unzähligen Gehäuseresten und Kalkausscheidungen von Schwämmen, Algen und Korallen aufgebaut. Dazwischen liegen immer wieder dünne Mergelschichten, deren Ablagerung auf rhythmische Klimaschwankungen zurückgeführt wird. Zusammen mit den dünnen Mergellagen lassen die Kalkbänke das Bild aufgeschichteter Mauern entstehen. Diese „wohlgebankten Kalke” sind stellenweise so schön aufgeschichtet, dass der Betrachter zweifelt, ob hier die Natur oder der Mensch tätig gewesen ist. Ganz anders sehen einige Felsen aus: undeutlich bis gar nicht geschichtete, massige, kompakte Kalke. Hier waren die Schwämme am Werk, also im Jurameer weit verbreitete Meerestiere, die ähnlich wie Korallen Riffe aufbauen.

Kalksteine in so großen Vorkommen regten den Menschen verständlicherweise zu vielfältigen Nutzungen an. So prägen große Steinbrüche auch heute noch das Landschaftsbild. Hier wurden und werden Kalkschotter für das Baugewerbe und Kalk als Rohmaterial für die Zementindustrie gewonnen. Da der weite Transport des Kalkes zu teuer gewesen wäre, finden sich meist große Zementwerke in der Nähe der Steinbrüche, so in Allmendingen, Dotternhausen, Schelklingen und Geisingen. Die Steinbrüche stellen zwar erst einmal einen Eingriff in die Naturlandschaft dar, sind aber nach einiger Zeit wichtiger Lebensraum für Wanderfalken, den Uhu und andere seltene Tierarten und stehen deshalb teilweise sogar unter Naturschutz.

Die Kalksteine der Alb sind aufgrund der flachgründigen Böden fast an jeder Wegböschung an der Oberfläche sichtbar oder fi nden sich am Rande von Äckern in großen Lesesteinhaufen oder Mauern zusammengetragen. „Viel Steine gab’s und wenig Brot”, so wurde früher das Härtsfeld bei Neresheim beschrieben, und auch heute noch fragt sich der Betrachter, wie zwischen den Steinen, die die Äcker fast vollständig bedecken, eigentlich noch Getreide wachsen soll.

Das wasserlösliche und „wasserverschluckende” Kalkgestein der Alb ist nicht nur ein geologisches Phänomen, sondern zwingt auch Menschen, Tiere und Pflanzen zu besonderen Anpassungen. Berühmt ist die Alb für ihre leuchtend bunten Wiesen, Kalkmagerrasen genannt, mit zahlreichen Orchideen und Silberdisteln. Die großflächigen Wacholderheiden, ein geradezu typisches Bild für die „ursprüngliche” Alb, würden hier eigentlich gar nicht vorkommen. Sie wurden sozusagen vom Menschen angelegt. Dessen Schafherden verhinderten das Aufkommen von Laubbäumen, die ansonsten hier einen lichten Buchenwald gebildet hätten. Lediglich der stachelige Wacholder, den auch kein noch so hungriges Schaf verbeißen wollte, blieb erhalten.

weiter zu Tertiär