MENÜ

Tertiary Period - volcanoes erupt, meteorites strike

After 50 million years it finally happens − the Jurassic Sea recedes and the Alb becomes a land mass. However, there are now only a few remaining traces from this era of the Cretaceous and early Tertiary periods. The reason for this is the strong erosion which has almost completely removed every trace of this period. The most exciting remnant of the Tertiary is the result of two natural catastrophes which both had a massive impact on the landscape.

The Swabian volcano
In the Tertiary, between 18 and 10 million years ago, many volcanoes erupted on the Swabian Alb and some of these can still be seen in the present landscape. The basaltic magma rose up through the fissured earth crust and tore away pieces of rock from the bedrock and the overlying Triassic and Jurassic layers. When it came into contact with the groundwater in the White Jurassic, there were immense steam explosions which blasted away the overlying rock layers. In this way, big calderas were formed which later filled with water and became freshwater lakes on the plateau of the Swabian Alb. The most famous of these former freshwater lakes is the Randecker Maar, a volcanic crater now located directly along the Alb escarpment. It left behind finely laminated limestones with beautifully preserved fossils: flowers and leaves of subtropical plants, insects, frogs and salamanders, and even the remains of mammals.

In the Alb foreland, the volcanic diatremes appear as cone-shaped mountains. For example the Limburg, the Turmberg, the Sulzburg near Oberlenningen, the Spitzberg and Engelberg near Beuren, the Georgenberg near Reutlingen, the Metzinger Weinberg and the Grafenberg and several others, they all have a core of volcanic origin. The volcanic rock filling of these hills is more resistant to weathering than the surrounding layers of the Brown Jurassic and so they stand out as flat cones on the foreland of the Swabian Alb. When humans settled on the Swabian Alb, the volcanic diatremes were particularly important for them as this is the place where they found water. The groundwater accumulated on the water-impermeable volcanic tuffs and did not drain away as quickly as it is usually the case on the karstified Alb plateau. The thermal springs and mineral springs containing carbonic acid in Bad Imnau, Bad Überkingen, Bad Ditzenbach, Bad Boll, Bad Urach, Beuren and Aalen are probably the latest consequences of the volcanic activity during the Tertiary.

A greeting from outer space leaves its mark
It only lasted a few minutes and happened 15 million years ago − a natural catastrophe of immense proportions that destroyed all life within a wide radius. Two meteorites struck the ground at a speed of about 25 km per second, only about 40 km away from the plateau of the Swabian Alb. The impact of the larger meteorite led to the formation of the famous Nördlinger Ries. The smaller meteorite had a diameter of about 80 m and left behind a circular crater of 3.5 km diameter in the area of today‘s municipality of Steinheim am Albuch. On impact, pressures of over 100,000 atm. and a temperature of some 10,000°C were generated. Consequently the meteorite and the surrounding rock evaporated on impact giving rise to a crater of around 250 metres in depth.

The impact caused shock waves to be released, the crater was blasted out and a huge amount of debris was expelled. Similar to a drop of water landing on the water surface, a peripheral rim was created and as a consequence of the rebound, the clearly visible cone of the central hill emerged which can be seen today. The rock was crushed and melted within seconds – from the hard White Jurassic layer on the surface deep down to the bedrock in the interior of the Earth. Rock ejecta, for example of White Jurassic limestones, were hurled for kilometres through the air and then inclined, compressed and folded on impact. Finally, a freshwater lake formed in the explosion crater, where then new life quickly evolved. The outcrops of sand in the Steinheim Basin with their freshwater snails are particularly famous, but fossil fish, turtles and mammals were also found there.

continue with Quarternary Period

MENÜ

Tertiär - Vulkane brechen aus, Meteoriten schlagen ein

Nach 50 Millionen Jahren ist es dann endlich soweit, das Jurameer zieht sich zurück, die Alb wird zum Festland. Doch nur wenige Spuren aus dieser Zeit der Kreide und des frühen Tertiärs haben sich erhalten. Der Grund dafür liegt in der starken Abtragung, die alle Zeugnisse aus dieser Zeit fast restlos beseitigte. Die spannendsten Überbleibsel des Tertiärs sind die Zeugnisse zweier Naturkatastrophen mit großen Folgen.

Der Schwäbische Vulkan
Auf der Schwäbischen Alb brachen im Tertiär, zwischen 18 und 10 Millionen Jahren, viele Vulkane aus, die teilweise noch heute im Landschaftsbild zu erkennen sind. Das basaltische Magma stieg in die zerklüftete Erdkruste auf und riss Gesteinsbrocken aus dem Grundgebirge sowie den überlagernden Schichten der Trias und des Juras mit sich. Beim Zusammentreffen mit dem Grundwasser im oberen Weißen Jura kam es zu gewaltigen Wasserdampf-Explosionen, welche die überlagernden Schichtkomplexe wegsprengten. So entstanden riesige Sprengkessel, die sich später mit Wasser füllten und große Süßwasserseen auf der Hochfläche der Schwäbischen Alb bildeten.

Im Albvorland treten die Vulkanschlote als kegelförmige Berge auf. So haben zum Beispiel die Limburg, der Turmberg, die Sulzburg bei Oberlenningen, der Spitzberg und Engelberg bei Beuren, der Georgenberg bei Reutlingen, der Metzinger Weinberg sowie der Grafenberg und einige andere einen vulkanisch entstandenen Kern. Die Schlotfüllungen dieser Berge sind verwitterungsbeständiger als die umgebenden Schichten des Braunen Juras und erheben sich deshalb als flache Kegel im Vorland der Schwäbischen Alb. Als Menschen die Schwäbische Alb besiedelten, waren die Vulkanschlote für sie von besonderer Bedeutung, denn sie fanden dort Wasser. Dieses sammelte sich auf den wasserstauenden vulkanischen Tuffen und floss nicht, wie sonst für die verkarstete Albhochfläche typisch, rasch ab. Der bekannteste dieser ehemaligen Süßwasserseen ist das Randecker Maar, ein Vulkanschlot, heute unmittelbar am Albtrauf gelegen. Er hinterließ feingeschichtete Kalke mit schön erhaltenen Fossilien: Blüten und Blätter subtropischer Pfl anzen, Insekten, Frösche und Salamander, ja sogar Reste von Säugetieren.

Ein Gruß aus dem All hinterlässt Spuren
Es dauerte nur wenige Minuten und ereignete sich vor 15 Millionen Jahren - eine Naturkatastrophe von riesigem Ausmaß, die alles Leben in weitem Umkreis vernichtete. Zwei Meteoriten schlugen mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 25 km in der Sekunde nur rund 40 km voneinander entfernt auf der Hochfläche der Schwäbischen Alb ein. Der Einschlag des größeren Meteoriten führte zur Entstehung des bekannten Nördlinger Rieses. Der kleinere Meteorit besaß einen Durchmesser von ca. 80 m und hinterließ im Gebiet der heutigen Gemeinde Steinheim am Albuch einen kreisrunden Krater von 3,5 km Durchmesser. Beim Einschlag entstand ein Druck von über 100.000 Atmosphären und Temperaturen von einigen 10.000°C. Demzufolge verdampften der Meteorit und das umgebende Gestein beim Aufschlag, so dass ein Krater von rund 250 Metern Tiefe entstand.

Durch den Einschlag breiteten sich Stoßwellen aus, der Krater wurde ausgesprengt und dabei eine riesige Menge an Trümmermassen ausgeworfen. Ähnlich wie bei einem Tropfen, der auf die Wasseroberfläche auftrifft, bildete sich ein Randwall und als Folge der Rückfederung stieg der heute noch deutlich sichtbare Kegel des Zentralhügels auf. In Sekunden wurden die Gesteine zermahlen und aufgeschmolzen - vom harten Weißen Jura an der Oberfl äche bis tief ins Erdinnere zum Grundgebirge. Gesteinsschollen, zum Beispiel aus Weißjurakalkstein, wurden kilometerweit durch die Luft geschleudert, beim Aufprall schräggestellt, gestaucht und gefaltet. Schließlich entstand im Sprengkrater ein Süßwassersee, in dem rasch neues Leben Fuß fasste. Berühmt sind vor allem die Sande des Steinheimer Beckens mit ihren Süßwasserschnecken, man fand darin aber auch Fische, Schildkröten und Säugetiere.

weiter zu Quartär